The 23 Commissioners-Designate recently screened and cleared by the Adamawa State House of Assembly have finally been inaugurated as members of the State Executive Council by Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri with a call on them to justify the trust reposed on them.

Government House Banquet Hall Yola venue of the swearing-in ceremony was filled to capacity with friends, family, party stalwarts and supporters who trooped in to witness the gigantic event.

Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri said at the inauguration of the new cabinet members that the expectation on the government to perform was high and as such should they should work together to deliver good governance and dividends of democracy to the people of Adamawa State.

Photo credit: Thomas Terry

“What we have just witnessed is the result of a painstaking process designed to constitute a State Executive Council with the combined capacity to deliver the primary objective of this Administration which is hinged on providing good governance, transparency and accountability” he said

“You are joining this Government at a critical period in a difficult journey to correct the ills of the past.

This task has been made more difficult by the heavy debt burden and liabilities imposed on this Administration.

He argued that Government has been compelled to take decisive action to clear the mess which it has inherited and still meet-up the challenge of providing for the welfare of the people despite the precarious financial condition. 

Governor Fintiri therefore urged them to bring their wealth of experience and competencies to bear in the implementation of policies and programmes of the present Administration.

While calling on them to promote a conducive atmosphere and synergy between Permanent Secretaries and Principal Officers, to drive success in execution, monitoring and evaluation of projects and vital services, Governor Fintiri said his administration will continue to create an enabling environment for every Public Servant to perform maximally, through establishing and strengthening of relevant institutions.

The new commissioners are

Mohammed Umar – Ministry of Local Government Affairs

Elijah Tumba – Ministry of Construction, Rehabilitation, intervention and Humanitarian Services (New)

Dr. Ishaya John Dabari – Finance and Budget

Barrister Sunday Mathew – Housing and Urban Development

Professor Isa Abdullahi – Health and Human Services (New)

Hassan Kaigama – Water Resources

Dr. Umar Garba Pella – Information and Strategy

Lami Patrick –  Women Affairs and Social Development

Abdullahi Prambe – Rural and Community Development

 Usman Yahaya Diyajo – Livestock and Aquaculture Development (New)

Umaru Iya Daware – Tertiary and and Professional Education (New)

 Ibrahim Mijinyawa – Land and Survey

Mustapha Musa Jika – Transportation

Sunusi Faruk – Youth and Sport and Development

 Bappa Dalhatu Isa – Mineral Resources

Aloysius Babadoke -Special Duties

Adamu Atiku – Works and Energy Development (New)

Shuaibu Audu – Environment and Natural Resources Development (New)

 Iliya James – Entrepreneurship Development (New)

Dr. Dishi Khobe – Agriculture

Mrs Justina Nkom – Commerce and Industry

Mrs Wulbina Jackson – Education and Human Capital Development (New)

Adamu Titus – Culture and Tourism

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.